Slow May has been slow

***spoilers possible

May has been a fairly slow reading month for me. I had a lot of work commitments and a few knitting projects kept me occupied during my time off.

 

 

Lumberjanes (Noelle Stevenson) ♠♠♠♠

43

 

I didn’t like this one quite as much as the previous ones but Noelle Stevenson is definitely still on my favorite fun graphic novels list.

 

 

 

 

Behemoth ♠♠♠♠♠ and Goliath ♠♠♠♠ (Scott Westerfeld)

I really adore this series. It’s really nerdy. I love the sciency aspects of the context – the Clunkers and Darwinists! – and the historical background of WWI is a really neat backstory to it. This series is full of imagination, beautiful descriptions of locations (i.e. Istanbul), and interesting plots including a few twists and turns. The only issue I have with the series is that the inevitable love story between the two protagonists (hey, it is YA after all) took up the entire final chapter. Why? That really wasn’t necessary. Also, to be honest, I am not a fan of the cover art.

 

 

From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankenweiler (E.L. Konigsburg) ♠♠♠♠♠

45

I read this book because one of the ladies from my knitting circle recommended it as one of her favorite childhood books. Ever since moving to the US, I have made it a point to read people’s favorite books from their past. Moreover, my book club just so happened to have A Newberry Award Winner is its category for May …. so bam! I loved, loved, loved everything about this story. I know I would’ve devoured this book as a youngster in middle grade. The author also wrote an afterword for its anniversary edition (which I just happened to get from my local library) and she seems like the most adorable human being. The way she writes and thinks and her humor just make me want to beg her to be my friend.

 

 

Nimona (Noelle Stevenson) ♠♠♠♠♠

46

Young and old. Good and evil. Hero and Villain. Friend and Foe. We can all be all of these at various times of our lives. Noelle Stevenson perfectly captures this dichotomy in her webcomic and now this graphic novel, which I could not put down. This very unique, human, and complicated relationship between Nimona and Lord Ballister Blackheart is all of us. The idea of an Institue of Law Enforcement and Heroics is interesting and seemed actually a bit too real – especially once it becomes clear how much the administrators meddle in day-to-day things. This is a graphic novel I would definitely read again. The illustrations were beautiful and the characters were well-development.

 

 

Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Jeff Kinney) ♠♠♠♠

47

 

This book came recommended by my 11 year old friend – a kid I tutor. I love reading his or his brother’s book suggestions. This is definitely a fun series – playing up all the things kids at that age find funny like boogers and farting and teasing each other. The protagonist’s interpretations of the world are cute and his diary entries are hilarious. I am going to read the next book asap.

Leave a Reply

