March – Nashville Library Read-along-month

***spoilers possible

 

The Trees (Ali Shaw) ♠♠♠♠♠

1

 

This book is one of those books you need to read slowly, pause often, and really think about things that are happening. I loved it. I am starting to think that ‘magical realism’ may be my genre. And trees are definitely something I’ve always been drawn to. I just really liked this “post-apocalyptic world” with its so very human problems. Also, that cover is just like everything, you guys!

 

 

The Secrets of Wishtide (Kate Saunders) ♠♠♠♠

1

 

I am a BIIIIIIIIG Agatha Christie fan, so this novel was a must and I have to say it was really decent. The main character was empowered and witty and lovable and all the good things. So, thumbs up on this one. I can’t wait to read more of this series.

 

 

March, Books 1 through 3 (John Lewis) ♠♠♠♠♠

THIS SERIES IS GOLDEN. It features John Lewis’ endeavors during the Civil Rights Movement and the illustrations are just to die for. Amazing, beautiful, bold, and haunting! The Nashville Public Library could’ve not picked a better series to read for their March (hehehehe) reading awareness program.

 

Norse Mythology (Neil *swoon* Gaiman) ♠♠♠♠♠

4

 

 

Oh Neil Gaiman, you are a god! So who better than to talk about gods?! I like to imagine that this novel was born out of his notes he scribbled down for American Gods. ‘Nuff said! Read it! ASAP!

 

 

 

We Should All Be Feminists (Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie) ♠♠♠♠

5

 

Stranger: Should I read this?

Me: Are you human? …. So, yes.

 

 

How to Talk to Girls at Parties (Neil Gaiman) ♠♠♠♠ and Troll Bridge (Neil Gaiman) ♠♠♠

I read both graphic novels quickly one afternoon in the campus library.  I liked How to Talk to Girls at Parties better than Troll Bridge because the illustrations were much more special. Also, that unexpected twist at the end ;). But Troll Bridge was definitely darker and filled with horror, which is generally much more up my alley.

 

Big Little Lies (Liane Moriarty) ♠♠♠♠♠

10

 

I read this because 1) everyone else did and 2) in anticipation of the series. I quite enjoyed this book actually. It would be the perfect summer read. It had enough suspense to keep me interested and I felt Moriarty did a good job with character development. I also heard great things about the TV series, so now that’s on my list to binge watch.

 

The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood) ♠♠♠♠♠

11

 

A must read. I cannot believe I’ve only read this now. Atwood has a keen eye for the detail but never forgets to bring across the bigger picture. This book is real and scary and a little bit overwhelming. I definitely think this is one of those novels I will re-read over and over again. And just as Big Little Lies, it is now a TV series, and I cannot wait to watch it.

 

 

The Girl with All the Gifts (M.R. Carey) ♠♠♠♠

12

 

So, I am normally not into zombie stories, but, dudes and dudettes, this book rocked. The premise was great: post-apocalypse meets genetic thriller. I devoured the book, and there were two moments where I had to take a short breather because I got a bit too scared – which is the best kind of scared! Read this one for sure!

Leave a Reply

