January reading log and some musings

***spoilers possible

Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls and Everything in Between (Lauren Graham) ♠♠♠♠♠

lauren-graham

 

Lauren Graham is Lorelai Gilmore. She is also so much more. I really loved this memoir. Graham is witty and funny and very sarcastic. Her sensible side is very appealing and makes me want to be her best bud. I want everyone to read this book.

 

 

Where’d you go, Bernadette (Maria Semple) ♠♠♠

bernadette

 

I felt meh about this one. I am glad I read it since I hear people referring to Maria Semple’s books quite a bit but so far I am not convinced Semple is for me. Also, some of the storyline is just so damn unbelievable (as in I don’t buy it for one second). Sure, Bernadette is hiding out in (on?) Antarctica and it takes her young daughter to figure that out. I call BS.

 

InterWorld (Neil Gaiman and Michael Reaves) ♠♠♠♠

interworld

 

Very, very interesting and intriguing concept and yet again a solid Gaiman book. He really is one of my favorite authors. I am definitely looking forward to the second installment. And hopefully, I will remember all these new terms I learned in the first book (talking about a whole new language 😉 ).

 

 

I‘ll Give You the Sun (Jandy Nelson) ♠♠♠♠♠

giveyouthesunThis is one of those lovely soul-crushing books. You have to read it and you’re going to be sort of devastated at the end – but in the best way possible. This book left me worn out. I definitely needed a breather after it. But somehow, it also gave me hope because it truly does show with every door that closes a new one opens and good things come from bad situations. My book club decided to make February’s reading prompt “an unconventional love story” and I kinda wish I would’ve saved this book for it. I have definitely been telling everyone to read it for that category if they haven’t yet.

 

The Sunset Limited (Cormac McCarthy) ♠♠♠♠♠♠

sunsetlimitedCormac McCarthy you wonderful son of a bitch. This story blew my mind (meaning it gets 6 spades!). It should be mandatory reading, starting in high school. Screw Catcher in the Rye or Die Leiden des Jungen Werther (for my German friends). If you want to speculate ‘why the f*&% are we alive’ and ‘what does it all mean’, read this! McCarthy’s writing is pure genius.  Metaphors, analogies, imagery, and a million open-ended questions make you question everything you ever knew or believed. This story is simultaneously depressing af and utterly uplifting.

 

We Are on Our Own (Miriam Katin) ♠♠♠♠♠

onourown

Um, yes. WW2 in Hungary. This is so beautifully told and illustrated, I gobbled this book up in less than an hour. Told from two different perspectives (mother and daughter), this story tells the tale of despair, doubt, and deep, deep sadness without losing itself in the cliché I often feel when reading or learning about WW2.

 

The Ocean at the End of the Lane (Neil Gaiman) ♠♠♠♠

oceanlane

 

Yep, another Neil Gaiman. That man is everything. Swoon. This story was like a dream. I honestly often didn’t know what was going on or how I was feeling about that. It was magical! Read it!

 

 

 

A Streetcar Named Desire (Tennessee Williams) ♠♠♠♠♠

streetcar

 

Definitely a must-read. I am glad I finally got around to it. Also Marlon Brando, everyone! I need to watch the movie now.

 

 

Before the Fall (Noah Hawley) ♠♠♠♠

beforethefallDo you guys remember last summer’s blog post about Stephen King’s book tour? Well, he was reading this book during the tour and commented on it when I saw him speak. I have had that book on my shelves since before that and have been meaning to read it. I gotta be honest, it was not what I had expected. But I liked it nonetheless. If you want a fast-paced thriller, this book is not for you. If you want a study of the human condition, read it.

 

Me Before You (Jojo Moyes) ♠♠♠

mebeforeyouI said it before, I like a good sappy love story. And this one promised to be it. Maybe my mindset was already off because the book received so much hype, or maybe it really isn’t that great, but this just fell short for me. The gist of the love story was beautiful and the characters were well-developed but the whole novel was just way too predictable – of course he is going to commit assisted suicide at the end. I wanted to like this so much more than I did. Maybe the sequel will be better?!

 

Maya’s Notebook (Isabel Allende) – audiobook ♠♠♠♠

So, Isabel Allende has been on my radar for a long, long time. I’ve been wanting to read her books but have just been pushing it off. With my excessive knitting in full force this mayasnotebookyear, I decided to give audiobooks another try (I honestly have such a hard time with them) and Maya’s Notebook was right away available from my local library. I have to say this book surprised me in a good way. I had high expectations for Allende and she far exceeded them. Who would’ve thought she could write such poignant internal turmoils and realistic human interactions. Maria Cabezas did a wonderful job voicing Maya. I truly believed I was listening to her reading from her diary. I am not sure if I am cured of my dislike of audiobooks but I am certain Isabel Allende is on my must-read-more list!

Leave a Reply

