Chapter 24 – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy ♠♠♠♠

  1. One of my friends had begged me for months to read this and I am glad I finally did.
  2. I had already seen the movie and was worried I would find the book boring but I so didn’t. What an imaginative read.

If you don’t know what sarcasm is, read this book. I can’t think of a better example! And even if you don’t get sarcasm, read this book anyway.

This story is what would happen if you let three year olds spin a tale and you just write it down word for word. Every twist and turn made it more fantastical and a lot more unbelievable. Yet, Douglas Adams somehow manages to tell it like this is what truly happened, is currently happening, or would happen in the future. Never once did I think “this is too out there” even though objectively speaking “this is totally out there, like far out there”. In fact, this book made me excited about weird aliens, crazy space travel, the world ending, and reading travel guides. I admire people with imagination like that. How did he come up with any of this? Did he actually ask three year olds? I know this book is based on his radio series, and I can only guess how much people gobbled this up in the 70s. I might have to see if I can find any recordings of this show.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is for sure one of those staples everyone must read in their lifetime!

One thought on “Chapter 24 – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy ♠♠♠♠

Leave a Reply

