Wrap-up post for Dewey’s 24 fall readathon

So this happened. My hour nap turned into a full-on several hour sleep. I didn’t hear the alarm. Technically, the readathon started at 7 am yesterday and ended at 7 am today. I didn’t start until 10:30 am yesterday though, so in full disclosure I read until 10:30 am this morning. Thus technically, I missed the end of the readathon because I was asleep but in practicality I read for 24 hours.

Here are my numbers:

Total pages read: 836

Mean pages read: 35.96

Median pages read: 36 (I love when median and mean match!)

Total number of books read: 4 (2 print, 2 Kindle)

And here is my reading log. The huge spike in hour 14 represents a poetry book. So, take that with a grain of salt  🙂

reading-log-oct2016

There is always this fun exit interview that Dewey’s provides and of course I will answer those questions.

Which hour was most daunting for you?

This time I had no trouble during the actual reading. I however struggled with getting up on time (which didn’t happen) and waking up after a nap (which also didn’t happen).

Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

Legend by Marie Lu

The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy & Other Stories by Tim Burton

Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season?

I enjoyed the twitter groups we had during the spring readathon. I don’t think they were present this time.

What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

I am a big fan of the challenges and the facebook group. You guys rocked this!

How many books did you read?

4

What were the names of the books you read?

Legend by Marie Lu

The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy & Other Stories by Tim Burton

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future by Michael J Fox

The Round House by Louise Erdrich

Which book did you enjoy most?

The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy & Other Stories

Which did you enjoy least?

The Round House

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

P(participate in next readathon) = 1

Thank you so much to everyone who organized and participated in this fall readathon. You guys rock!

 

So long! Until the next Dewey’s readathon on  April 29, 2017.

 

ON A SIDE NOTE: I am super behind on my chapter write ups for the POPSUGAR reading challenge. It is daunting to think about. Guys, I am scared. I really want to stick with it!

2 thoughts on “Wrap-up post for Dewey’s 24 fall readathon

Leave a Reply

