Update on my two week reading challenge

Whomp. Whomp. I set out to read 3 books and so far I have only finished two of them. I have until tomorrow to somehow complete book three, which is comprised of short stories, so I have hope. I technically should have time to read a lot today, but somehow I thought that for almost every day of the past two weeks and something always came up.

As I said in my previous post, I read HP book 1 and loved, loved, loved it all over again. I started reading Exemplary Stories next but the language is pretty heavy, so this is not a book I can just devour. With all the distractions in form of family visits, work, and home improvement projects (ugh, painting one of the bedrooms was seriously doom), I decided I should probably start The Gunslinger since it 1) promised to be an easier read and 2) is a Stephen King novel and we all know how obsessed I am with him. Big bonus (and number 3 on this list), it fits into one of the year-reading-challenge categories [I should be honest here and mention (again) that Exemplary Stories does too but see the above for the various reasons why I was making so little progress on it].

So, I finished The Gunslinger quickly – in fact, two mornings of reading and coffee/hot chocolate accomplished that job. I gosh darn loved the book. Everything about it was amazing. I was confused for the majority of the pages – love that. I had no idea who was good and who was bad – love that. The description of the different worlds, the desolate kinds, the old medieval kinds, the modern-today kinds, and the futuristic and fantastic kinds, were so vivid and gripping – love that. And the ending, gah the ending. I don’t even know. It was the most perfect mix between ‘Interstellar’ and ‘Inception’; and if you haven’t seen those movies, you should drop anything you’re doing and watch them right now.

 

 

I’ll be updating again soon. And you should be able to read longer reviews of Exemplary Stories and The Gunslinger eventually in my yearlong chapter-like journey. For now, so long and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Update on my two week reading challenge

  1. I have been wanting to read the whole series of The Dark Tower, glad you liked it. Must buy the whole shubang one cheap day on Amazon, ha ha

    Like

Leave a Reply

