Literary Hiatus VI – readathon concludes

Wow! This was really cool! What a wonderful experience and opportunity to dedicate a day to books. I’ve read a total of 720 pages with various degrees of distractions: snacking, the dogs, coffee shop meet-ups, an ice cream run, 30 minutes of Louis CK standup on Netflix, and an unscheduled nap.

I was able to finish reading The Night Circus and I am almost halfway through Gone Girl. Both books had been on my TBR list for quite a while, and I am glad I finally got around to them, especially since I am not sure they’ll actually fit into any of my reading challenge categories (well maybe Gone Girl will, I’ll have to see).

20160424_070305
My late night …
IMG_20160424_080337
and early morning reading companion.
readathon
Breakdown of reading progress.

I am not a morning person, in fact I hate getting up early. I am grumpy, and moody, and all around a pest if I have to. Yesterday morning was difficult but I managed better than I had expected. This morning was beautiful as I could see the sunrise. I stepped out of the house to enjoy the quiet neighborhood and was hit with the most lovely lilac smell. I should pat myself on the shoulder for that one as I planted the lilac bush underneath the kitchen window two years ago not realizing though how amazing it will be to sit on the porch and smell the bloom.

With that said, I am off to bed. Sundays are after all for sleeping in and being lazy. As I remarked to some friends yesterday …. I am planning on bumming around the house today, which usually includes a good book. So, I foresee myself right back in my reading nook after this nap.

I hope everyone had as much fun as I did. Hiatus over!

Leave a Reply

