Literary Hiatus V – 5AM interlude

So, I am still reading Gone Girl. I made it past my page number goal already with the first book. I set a modest 500 page finish line for my first marathon and The Night Circus was a 512 page read. So woot woot for that! In my mind anything past that was going to be bonus.

So far I am really enjoying Gone Girl but I am TIRED. In fact I took a sort of scheduled/unscheduled nap after midnight. I was fading quite a bit at that time and thought to sleep for maybe an hour or two but really wanted to finish the midnight hour reading (aka nap at 1 AM). Thus I figured I could play a little on my phone, look through everyone’s blog posts or facebook status updates, and maybe even get a few more pages in. Since I have Gone Girl as a paperback, I figured I’d read on my kindle app. Oh well, I read a total of 10 pages of Unbroken and then promptly passed out. No alarm was set. I hadn’t even gotten around to that yet. Good thing I woke back up, at 4 AM. I don’t usually wake up in the middle of the night. I got up and am now back to reading  Gone Girl hoping to finish strong during the last few hours.

The underlined part made me giggle during the early portions of the book. I didn’t expect Flynn to be so raunchy. And everyone who knows me knows I like those kind of jokes. Of course, I had to send that to my bff, thus this picture.

20160423_192733
I laughed.

6 AM Addendum: 24hr mark survey: 

Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 18

Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? The Night Circus really sucked me in. Recent reads outside of readathon: Middlesex, Neverwhere, The Graveyard Book, my all time favorite The Perfume.

Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season? I was a bit overwhelmed with all the different social media options. Maybe a guide on the website would’ve been more helpful. Or maybe a graphic on how many people plan on using what so we could decide on majority.

What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The cheering! The FB group!

How many books did you read? 1.5

What were the names of the books you read? The Night Circus. Gone Girl.

Which book did you enjoy most? The Night Circus.

Which did you enjoy least? N/A … I guess Gone Girl by default but I am really enjoying it.

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? Probability = 1.

What role would you be likely to take next time? Reader. Maybe (officially) cheering people on as well.

One thought on “Literary Hiatus V – 5AM interlude

Leave a Reply

